Eskom to cut power to municipalities owing millions

The power utility announced on Monday regarding its plans to cut power to defaulting five municipalities in Northern Cape

Collectively, Tsantsabane, Magareng, Kamiesberg, Khai Ma, and Ritchersveld municipalities owe Eskom a total of 273 million in outstanding debts.

“Please be advised that the following municipalities remain in the disconnection process despite repeated attempts by Eskom to reach a resolution on payment,” said Eskom spokesperson, Sikonathi Manthsantsha.

The above municipalities are scheduled for disconnection on 08 July 2020.

Eskom says they have been in engagement regarding payment arrangement with no success.

“Power will be cut off from 6 am to 8 pm. Residents are advised to contact their municipalities as well as municipal councilors,” added Manthsantsha.